Broadsoft Outlook Toolbar Lock
Always show the ribbon in MS Outlook 2016 / 2013 / 2010 1 The ribbon (tabs at the top that replaced menus and toolbars since Office 2007) is hidden by default in Outlook 2010 and Outlook 2013, possibly Outlook 2016, in which these screenshots are taken. Jun 24, 2014 How to show or restore ribbon in Outlook? Sometimes when you open the Outlook application, you might see the Outlook Ribbon disappears from Outlook interface just like below screenshot shows. Without the Ribbon, the daily work become complicated and time-consuming. With this article, you will learn how to quickly show or restore Outlook Ribbon.
-->
Summary
One of the most convenient features of Microsoft Word is the ability to customize the tools that you work with. This article describes how you can customize and create toolbars and toolbar buttons. You can customize any toolbar by adding, deleting, moving, or grouping toolbar buttons to suit your needs.
Microsoft Word includes several built-in toolbars, including the two default toolbars that are visible when you start Word: the Standard toolbar and the Formatting toolbar. The Standard toolbar includes command buttons with which you can quickly access many of the frequently used commands, such as Save, Open, Copy, and Paste. The Formatting toolbar provides quick access to text-formatting commands, including Bold, Italic, Underline, Numbering, and Bullets.
To see a list of available toolbars, point to Toolbars on the View menu. The available toolbars appear on the Toolbars submenu. The toolbars that are currently visible in the Word window are selected (check marks appear next to them). To view and use a toolbar, you must select it on the Toolbars submenu. To select it (make it visible on the Word screen), click the toolbar name.
Note Creating and customizing menus in Word is similar to the way that you create and customize your toolbars.
How to add a button to an existing toolbar
To add a button to an existing toolbar, use one of the following methods.

Method 1: Use the customize command on the toolbars submenu
On the View menu, point to Toolbars, and then click Customize.
Note You can also open the Customize dialog box by clicking Customize on the Tools menu.
In the Customize dialog box, click the Commands tab. Under Categories, select the category from which you want to add a button. The Categories list displays categories of commands, organized by menu name or by type. The Built-in Menus category provides options for changing menus.
Click a category to change the list of commands that appear in the Commands box, on the right side of the Customize dialog box.
To add a button to a toolbar that is displayed, drag the button from the Commands box to the toolbar.
For example, under Categories, click View. In the Commands box, click View Field Codes, and drag it to the Standard toolbar. Release the mouse button when you see a vertical bar indicating the position of the button.
Method 2: Use the 'More Buttons' button on the toolbar
On the toolbar, click More Buttons, and then click Add or Remove Buttons.
A submenu appears.
Note The More Buttons toolbar button appears on most (not all) toolbars only when the toolbar is docked. To dock a toolbar, either double-click the title bar of the floating toolbar, or drag it to a docked position.
For more information about how to dock a toolbar, click Microsoft Word Help on the Help menu, type move a toolbar in the Office Assistant or the Answer Wizard, and then click Search to view the topics returned.
To add a button to the toolbar, select the check box next to the button that you want to add. To remove a button from the toolbar, click to clear the check box next to the button on the submenu.
How to change the image of an existing button
Display the toolbar where the button you want to change appears.
On the Tools menu, click Customize.
When the Customize dialog box appears, right-click the button on the toolbar, and point to Change Button Image on the list that appears. A selection of images appears. Click the button image that you want to use as your custom button image.
Note If you change the image and then decide that it is not what you want, you cannot revert to the original image. However, you can drag the button with the wrong image off the toolbar and add another image from the Customize dialog box (click the Commands tab).
To modify a button image, follow these steps:
- On the Tools menu, click Customize.
- When the Customize dialog box appears, right-click the button, and then click Edit Button Image.
- The Edit Button dialog box appears. Make any changes that you want, and then click OK.
You cannot change the image of a button that displays a list or menu when you click it.
How to modify toolbar buttons
- On the Tools menu, click Customize.
- Click the Toolbars tab.
- Use the appropriate procedure from the following table.
- Click Close.
How to assign a hyperlink to a toolbar button or menu command
When you assign a hyperlink to a toolbar button or menu command, the hyperlink replaces the command currently assigned to that button or menu command.
Note
You cannot assign a hyperlink to a button that displays a list or menu when you click it.
To assign a hyperlink to a toolbar button or menu command, follow these steps:
Make sure the toolbar that you want to change is visible. To do this, pointing to Toolbars on the View menu, and then click the toolbar that you want to display.
Do one of the following:
- On the **View **menu, point to Toolbars, and then click Customize.
- On the Tools menu, click Customize.
Right-click the toolbar button, point to Assign Hyperlink on the menu that appears, and then click Open. Under Link to, click the source that you want to link to, and then select the options that you want.
In the Customize dialog box, click Close.
How to create a new toolbar
On the View menu, point to Toolbars, and then click Customize.
Click the Toolbars tab, and then click New.
In the Toolbar Name box, type a name for your new custom toolbar.
In the Make toolbar available to box, click the template or open document where you want to store the toolbar.
Click OK.
The Customize dialog box appears.
Click the Commands tab. Click the category that you want to select your button from. Under Commands, drag the button that you want to the new toolbar.
Click Close.
How to delete a custom toolbar
On the View menu, point to Toolbars, and then click Customize.
Click the Toolbars tab.
Under Toolbars, click the custom toolbar that you want to delete, and then clickDelete.
Note You cannot delete a built-in toolbar. When you select a built-in toolbar in the Toolbars list, the Delete button is unavailable, and the Reset button becomes available. If you click the Reset button, the built-in toolbar returns to its original default appearance.
How to move a toolbar
To move a toolbar from its docked position at the top of the Word window, point to the two vertical bars on the left end of the toolbar. When the four-headed arrow appears, drag the toolbar to a new location.
To move a floating toolbar, click the title bar of the toolbar window, and then drag the toolbar to the new location.
How to store toolbar changes
When you create a custom toolbar or modify an existing toolbar, the changes are stored in the Normal template (Normal.dot), in another active template, or in an open document. To select the location where you want to store the changes, follow these steps:
- On the View menu, point to Toolbars, and then click Customize.
- In the Customize dialog box, click the Commands tab.
- In the Save in list, click the template or document where you want to save your custom toolbar.
- Click Close.
Note The Save in list displays templates and documents other than the Normal.dot template, only if those templates are active or if those documents are open in Word. To activate another template, close the Customize dialog box, click Templates and Add-Ins on the Tools menu, and then click Attach to attach your active document to another template.
References
For additional information about toolbars, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
291484 Your toolbars are missing, your menu bar is missing, or your personalized settings are not retained when you start Word 2002 or Word 2003
For more information about how to create and customize menus and toolbars, click Microsoft Word Help on the Help menu, type toolbars in the Office Assistant or the Answer Wizard, and then click Search to view the topics returned.
How to configure the Quick Access Toolbar settings in Outlook?

Do you know all your custom Quick Access Toolbar settings are saved as independent files? Have you tried to move the Quick Access Toolbar to other location? Or just hide the whole Ribbon including the Quick Access Toolbar? In this article, I will describe the detailed methods to configure the Quick Access Toolbar settings in Outlook 2010 and 2013.
- Auto CC/BCC by rules when sending email; Auto Forward Multiple Emails by rules; Auto Reply without exchange server, and more automatic features...
- BCC Warning - show message when you try to reply all if your mail address is in the BCC list; Remind When Missing Attachments, and more remind features...
- Reply (All) With All Attachments in the mail conversation; Reply Many Emails at once; Auto Add Greeting when reply; Auto Add Date&Time into subject...
- Attachment Tools: Auto Detach, Compress All, Rename All, Auto Save All... Quick Report, Count Selected Mails, Remove Duplicate Mails and Contacts...
- More than 100 advanced features will solve most of your problems in Outlook 2010-2019 and 365. Full features 60-day free trial.
Get the Quick Access Toolbar file location
When we customize the Quick Access Toolbar in Outlook, it will generate files for the custom settings and save them in your computer automatically. And you can get the QAT file location easily with following method.
Open a folder, paste the following path into the Address box, and press the Enter key.
C:Users%username%AppDataLocalMicrosoftOffice
In the opening folder, you will get the qat files.
Notes:
() If you are using Outlook 2007, the qat files are shown as xxxx.qat file; if you are using Outlook 2010 and 2013, the qat files are shown as xxxx.officeUI;
(3) There will be many qat files in the destination folder if you have customized the Quick Access Toolbar in many windows, such as messages composing window, message reading windows, appointment windows, etc.
Change the Quick Access Toolbar location in Ribbon
Some Outlook users may require to change the location of Quick Access Toolbar in the Ribbon. It’s very easy to deploy the QAT location.
Just click the Arrow button in the Quick Access Toolbar > Show Below the Ribbon.
Then the Quick Access Toolbar is moved from the very top of Ribbon to the bottom of Ribbon. See screen shot below:
If the Quick Access Toolbar has already been below the Ribbon, just click the Arrow button > Show Above the Ribbon.
Note: Due to Outlook 2007’s main interface showing in classic view, there is no Ribbon at all, therefore, we can’t change the Quick Access Toolbar location in Outlook 2007’s main interface.
Show / Hide Quick Access Toolbar
Sometimes, the whole Ribbon including the Quick Access Toolbar disappears from the Outlook 2013 interface, and make you annoyed to search for commands.
Show hidden Ribbon including Quick Access Toolbar: just click the Ribbon Display Options button at the top-right corner of Outlook interface > Show Tabs and Commands.
Hide Ribbon including Quick Access Toolbar: if you do not want to show the Ribbon and Quick Access Toolbar in the Outlook interface, just click the Ribbon Display Options button at the top-right corner > Auto-hide Ribbon.
Kutools for Outlook - Brings 100 Advanced Features to Outlook, and Make Work Much Easier!
- Auto CC/BCC by rules when sending email; Auto Forward Multiple Emails by custom; Auto Reply without exchange server, and more automatic features...
- BCC Warning - show message when you try to reply all if your mail address is in the BCC list; Remind When Missing Attachments, and more remind features...
- Reply (All) With All Attachments in the mail conversation; Reply Many Emails in seconds; Auto Add Greeting when reply; Add Date into subject...
- Attachment Tools: Manage All Attachments in All Mails, Auto Detach, Compress All, Rename All, Save All... Quick Report, Count Selected Mails...
- Powerful Junk Emails by custom; Remove Duplicate Mails and Contacts... Enable you to do smarter, faster and better in Outlook.
Broadsoft Outlook Toolbar Lock Not Working
or post as a guest, but your post won't be published automatically.
Broadsoft Outlook Toolbar Lock Windows 10
- I just upgraded to Outlook 2016 from 2013
I do not want to EVER see the quick access toolbar. I have no use for it and even when the ribbon is hidden it makes the top blue are where the file menu is two lines high and I want it one line high with just the file menu tabs. Is that so difficult? I am sick of MS introducing view/layout features that waste my valuable screen space. It was bad enough that the upgrade trashed the layout I had before (would it really be so difficult to preserve and reapply that during an upgrade) but this quck access toolbar is just one more annoyance.